Welcome to aubaine.ca!
Welcome to aubaine.ca!
By the aubaine.ca team · editorial direction: Marcel Dupont, founder · methodology
14 Aug 2026
Published August 14, 2026 · Updated · ⏱ 19 min read
Samsung and LG go head-to-head every year on the same shelves at Best Buy Canada and Quebec's big-box stores. In 2026, which QD-OLED, OLED evo or Neo QLED TV gives you the best value for your living room?
This 2026 comparison puts the current lineups of both brands side by side — QD-OLED and Neo QLED from Samsung, OLED evo WOLED from LG — with real Canadian prices observed in Quebec on August 14, 2026, each manufacturer's official warranty terms, and a clear verdict based on how you'll use the TV: home theatre, sports, gaming or a tight budget.
In 2026, Samsung is betting on QD-OLED panels (S95H, S90H, S85H series) and Neo QLED Mini-LED (QN80H), while LG sticks with WOLED-type OLED evo panels (G6, C6, B6E series). This basic technology choice explains most of the differences in colour, brightness and price between the two brands in Quebec.
For a shopper in Laval, Quebec City or the Montérégie who compares electronics flyers every week, understanding this distinction means not paying for specs that won't actually change what you see on screen. aubaine.ca's electronics and gaming deals change regularly depending on which models go on sale — but the underlying panel technology never changes from one week to the next.
QD-OLED combines a blue OLED emissive layer with quantum dots that convert light into red and green. The result: more saturated colours at high brightness than traditional OLED, one of the main selling points of the 2026 S95H and S90H.
LG's WOLED adds a white sub-pixel to the red, green and blue pixels to push overall brightness higher. In 2026, the G6 (all sizes) and the 77- and 83-inch versions of the C6, renamed C6H, move to a new Primary RGB Tandem panel, which stacks two emissive layers to gain brightness without a white sub-pixel.
The QN80H isn't an OLED: it's an LCD screen backlit by quantum mini-LEDs, a technology Samsung calls "Ultimate Mini LED Dimming." There's no pixel-by-pixel self-emission, so blacks are less deep and viewing angles are narrower than OLED — but sustained brightness is higher in a lit room, and the price is noticeably lower.
In short, if you're after the deepest contrast and the most saturated colours, OLED — Samsung QD-OLED or LG WOLED evo — remains the benchmark. If sustained brightness in a lit room and price matter more than perfect black, Samsung's Neo QLED QN80H is the only high-end LCD option covered in this comparison: there's no direct successor to the 2025 QN90F anymore, as that spot has been taken over by the Micro RGB R85H and R95H, which are outside the scope of this article.
The prices below were recorded on August 14, 2026 at Best Buy Canada and on the manufacturers' official websites; they reflect the current Quebec market, not a long-term guaranteed price.
| Model | Panel | Refresh rate | HDMI 2.1 (4K) | Price observed (65 in.) | Retailer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samsung S95H | QD-OLED | 165 Hz VRR | 4 ports | $3,499.99 (reg. $3,999.99) | Best Buy Canada / samsung.com/ca |
| Samsung S90H | QD-OLED | 165 Hz VRR | 4 ports | $2,499.99 (reg. $2,999.99) | Best Buy Canada / samsung.com/ca |
| Samsung S85H | OLED (WOLED) | not specified (55 in.) | not specified | $1,399.99 (55 in., reg. $1,999.99) | samsung.com/ca |
| Samsung QN80H | Neo QLED Mini-LED (LCD) | 144 Hz VRR | 4 ports | $1,799.99 (Best Buy) / $1,899.99 (Samsung.com) | Best Buy Canada / samsung.com/ca |
| LG OLED evo G6 | WOLED Primary RGB Tandem | up to 165 Hz (PC gaming) | 4 ports | $3,999.99 | Best Buy Canada |
| LG OLED evo C6 | WOLED evo | up to 165 Hz (PC gaming) | 4 ports | $2,299.99 (reg. $2,999.99) | Best Buy Canada |
| LG OLED B6E | OLED (WOLED, entry-level) | not specified | not specified | $1,499.99 | Best Buy Canada |
Note that the S85H was only verified in 55 inches, and LG's official launch MSRP ("starting at" $1,699.99 for the C6, $2,999.99 for the G6) serves as a theoretical floor — the current 55-to-65-inch prices at Best Buy in August 2026 are higher because they cover mid-range sizes, not the smallest size at the MSRP.
The S95H replaces the 2025 S95F, the S90H replaces the S90F, and the S85H replaces Samsung's previous entry-level OLED model. On the LG side, the G6 replaces the G5, the C6 replaces the C5, and the B6E rounds out the B6 lineup as the entry point. None of these five models change price segment from one year to the next — only the specs and panel technology evolve.
Sizes verified this week: the S95H comes in 55, 65, 77 and 83 inches; the S90H and QN80H cover at least 55 and 65 inches; the G6 ranges from 55 to 83 inches (a 97-inch model announced for later); the C6 covers 42, 48, 55, 65, 77 and 83 inches (77 and 83 inches in the C6H variant); the B6E was verified in 65 inches. For a Montreal condo or a small living room, the 42-inch C6 remains the only OLED option on this list under 48 inches.
The S95H is Samsung's flagship OLED for 2026, the S90H its mid-range equivalent, the S85H the OLED entry point, and the QN80H the best Neo QLED LCD option for a very bright living room.
The 65-inch S95H (QN65S95HAFXZC) offers 165 Hz with VRR, four HDMI 2.1 ports supporting 4K at 165 Hz, a Glare Free anti-reflective coating, and a peak brightness rated at roughly 3,000 nits — about 35% higher than the 2025 S95F, according to FlatpanelsHD. It sells for $3,499.99 at Best Buy Canada and on samsung.com/ca (regularly $3,999.99), and is also available in 55, 77 and 83 inches.
The S90H uses the same QD-OLED panel with an NQ4 AI Gen3 processor, 165 Hz VRR, four HDMI 2.1 ports at 4K/165 Hz, and the same Glare Free coating as the S95H, for $2,499.99 in 65 inches (regularly $2,999.99) — a $1,000 gap from the S95H for essentially the same gaming features.
The S85H uses a WOLED panel rather than QD-OLED — it's the only Samsung OLED that doesn't use Samsung's own panel technology. In 55 inches, it sells for $1,399.99 at Samsung Canada (regularly $1,999.99). The QN80H, on the other hand, isn't an OLED: it's a Neo QLED Mini-LED with 144 Hz VRR, four HDMI ports at 4K/144 Hz, an NQ4 AI Gen2 processor and a built-in 30W 2-channel Dolby Atmos sound system, priced at $1,799.99 in 65 inches at Best Buy Canada ($1,899.99 at Samsung Canada) and $1,399.99 in 55 inches on both platforms.
The G6 is LG's flagship OLED for 2026, the C6 its mid-range bestseller, and the B6E the OLED entry point — all three share the same generation of alpha11 AI 4K processor, but not the same panel.
The G6 moves to a WOLED Primary RGB Tandem panel rated up to 20% brighter than the 2025 G5, with a "Reflection Free" anti-glare coating on sizes 55 through 83 inches. LG Canada lists it at a starting MSRP of $2,999.99, but the 65-inch model (OLED65G6SUB) sells for $3,999.99 at Best Buy Canada — the 55-inch size stays closer to the launch MSRP, at $2,299.99 (regularly $2,999.99). The wall mount and stand are included on the 55- and 65-inch models, and LG backs the panel with a five-year warranty through its OLED Care+ program, a G6-series exclusive announced by LG Canada.
In 55 and 65 inches, the C6 keeps the same WOLED panel as the 2025 C5; it's the 77- and 83-inch sizes, renamed C6H, that get the new Primary RGB Tandem panel. All sizes support up to 165 Hz in PC gaming mode, with G-SYNC and FreeSync Premium, four HDMI 2.1 inputs and the alpha 11 AI 4K Gen3 processor. The launch MSRP starts at $1,699.99; in 55 and 65 inches, Best Buy Canada lists it at $2,299.99 (regularly $2,999.99 in 65 inches).
The B6E is LG's gateway into OLED. The 65-inch model (OLED65B6EUA) sells for $1,499.99 at Best Buy Canada — one of the few OLEDs under the $1,500 mark in this size, but without the high-end extras (Reflection Free, 5-year panel warranty, Primary RGB Tandem) found on the G6 and C6H.
LG's processors — alpha 11 AI 4K Gen3 in the C6, an equivalent generation in the G6 — rely on the same image-enhancement and AI engine, with only marginal gains from one year to the next. The real change in 2026 is in the panel, not the processor.
Samsung Canada and LG Canada both offer a standard one-year parts-and-labour warranty on their TVs — the real difference lies in in-home service and the five-year exception LG grants to the G6 alone.
Samsung's warranty covers 12 months of parts and labour for manufacturing defects only. In-home service applies to TVs 49 inches and larger — meaning every model compared in this article. For a screen 48 inches or smaller, service is done at a depot, with transport at the customer's expense. Samsung also offers Samsung Care+, an optional paid warranty extension for buyers who want coverage beyond the first year. Official details at samsung.com/ca.
LG Canada applies the same one-year parts-and-labour baseline to all of its flat-screen TVs, OLED and LCD alike. The only exception verified for 2026 is the G6 series, which gets a five-year panel warranty through the OLED Care+ program announced at the Canadian launch — a concrete selling point for a buyer planning to keep the TV for a long time. Official details at lg.com/ca_fr.
Neither Samsung nor LG warranties cover accidental damage or normal wear and tear — only paid extensions like Samsung Care+ cover that kind of breakage. Before buying, always check the purchase date and keep your receipt: it's that document, not the store where you bought it, that counts for any claim with the manufacturer.
Both brands are sold at Best Buy Canada (online and in-store in Quebec), directly on samsung.com/ca and lg.com/ca_fr, and at the partner retailers LG Canada announced for its 2026 OLED lineup: Best Buy, Costco, Visions, Brick and Léon's Furniture.
Best Buy Canada remains the most reliable point of comparison: the prices recorded in this article on August 14, 2026 come directly from its official search API, in stock as of that date. Samsung.com/ca and lg.com/ca_fr also sell directly online — LG offers delivery and installation on its 2026 OLED lineup as of this recording, though some Samsung sizes showed as out of stock on samsung.com/ca. To compare other electronics options before buying, the aubaine.ca online shop also brings together products worth comparing.
In Quebec, Best Buy Canada operates locations in most major cities — Montreal, Quebec City, Laval, Longueuil, Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivières, Gatineau — in addition to online sales at bestbuy.ca, making it the most practical way to see an S95H or a G6 in person before buying. On lg.com/ca_fr, delivery and installation were offered across the entire 2026 OLED lineup as of the August 14, 2026 recording — a real advantage for a 77- or 83-inch TV, which is heavy and awkward to haul yourself from a mall on Montreal's South Shore or North Shore.
This week (week 33, recorded August 14, 2026), Centre Hi-Fi's flyer features several of the Samsung and LG models compared in this article: the 83-inch S95H at $8,021.09, the 77-inch S95H at $5,521.09, the 83-inch S90H at $5,021.09, the 77-inch S90H at $3,521.09, and the LG G6 OLED evo at $6,021.09. These are weekly specials, not permanent prices — check this week's flyers before heading out to confirm they're still active.
Costco.ca and Tanguay couldn't be checked on August 14, 2026 (automated access blocked) — so their prices aren't included here, even though Costco is among the partner retailers LG Canada announced. Walmart Canada lists LG C6 models from 42 to 65 inches, but through third-party marketplace sellers (like Gibbys Electronic Supermarket): those prices weren't included either. To keep track of featured deals in Quebec on electronics in general, aubaine.ca's dedicated page is updated continuously.
There's no single "best" TV between Samsung and LG in 2026 — the right choice depends on your room, your budget and what you watch most often.
For a true home theatre in a dark room, the S95H and G6 are fighting for the top spot. The S95H ($3,499.99 in 65 inches) pushes colour saturation at high brightness thanks to its QD-OLED panel; the G6 ($3,999.99 in 65 inches at Best Buy) banks on overall brightness rated 20% higher than the G5 and a five-year panel warranty, a solid argument for a long-term investment in a dedicated room. If the living room's decor matters as much as the picture, check out aubaine.ca's home and decor deals to round out the setup.
In a very bright living room, in the afternoon or for watching weekend sports, sustained brightness matters more than perfect black. Samsung's Neo QLED QN80H ($1,799.99 in 65 inches) is built for that: no risk of burn-in from static scoreboards, and LCD brightness that holds up better against a window. The G6, with its Reflection Free coating, remains an OLED option for those who refuse to sacrifice contrast, as long as they're willing to pay a higher price.
Gamers are spoiled for choice: the S95H, S90H, C6 and G6 all offer 165 Hz with VRR and four HDMI 2.1 ports supporting 4K at 165 Hz. The best value for gaming features is the C6 at $2,299.99 in 65 inches (G-SYNC and FreeSync Premium included) or the S90H at the same price from Samsung — both let you skip the flagship premium (S95H, G6) for nearly identical gaming features. Whether you're playing on PC or a living-room console, the four HDMI 2.1 ports on the C6, S90H, S95H and G6 all support high-refresh 4K without cutting down how many sources you can plug in at once — a detail that matters in a living room where the console shares space with a soundbar.
For a first OLED TV without breaking the bank, LG's B6E at $1,499.99 in 65 inches is the cheapest option in this article at that size. In 55 inches, Samsung's QN80H and S85H are tied at $1,399.99 — the former a Neo QLED LCD, the latter a true WOLED OLED showing a $600 discount off the regular $1,999.99 price. Before deciding, also compare furniture flyers for the rest of the living room in aubaine.ca's furniture and appliance deals.
Samsung uses QD-OLED (quantum dots over blue emission) in its S95H and S90H series, while LG uses WOLED (an added white sub-pixel) in its G6, C6 and B6E series. QD-OLED tends to produce more saturated colours at high brightness; LG's 2026 WOLED evo closes part of the gap thanks to its new Primary RGB Tandem panel in the G6 and C6H.
No. The QN80H is a Neo QLED, meaning an LCD screen backlit by quantum mini-LEDs, not a self-emissive panel like OLED. It costs less ($1,799.99 in 65 inches at Best Buy Canada) and resists burn-in better, but its blacks and viewing angles remain inferior to the S95H, S90H, G6 and C6 series.
The G6 is the only 2026 LG model verified with a five-year panel warranty (OLED Care+ program), while the rest of LG's lineup — C6, B6E — stays on the standard Canadian one-year parts-and-labour warranty. That's worth considering if you keep your TV for more than three or four years.
Best Buy Canada, samsung.com/ca and lg.com/ca_fr show comparable prices on most models; retailer flyers like Centre Hi-Fi sometimes add one-off weekly specials on specific sizes. The smart move is to compare all three before buying, and to check this week's featured deals on aubaine.ca.
For most uses, yes: the C6 at $2,299.99 in 65 inches offers the same refresh rate up to 165 Hz and the same four HDMI 2.1 ports as the G6 at $3,999.99, minus the Primary RGB Tandem panel and the five-year panel warranty. The G6 mainly pays off for a dedicated home theatre where peak brightness and longevity matter more than saving $1,700.
For a very bright living room, Samsung's Neo QLED QN80H holds brightness better against a window and eliminates the risk of burn-in from static scoreboards — a real advantage for sports. LG's G6 stays competitive thanks to its Reflection Free coating, but at a noticeably higher price for a room that doesn't need OLED's deep black.
Samsung's S95H ranges from 55 to 83 inches, LG's G6 from 55 to 83 inches (a 97-inch model planned for later), and LG's C6 covers the widest range, from 42 to 83 inches thanks to its C6H variant in 77 and 83 inches. For a small living room or condo, the 42-inch C6 remains the only OLED option verified under 48 inches in this comparison.
Tags: Electronics
💛 Our promise: helping you save. Despite all the care we put into tracking prices, we simply cannot guarantee they are accurate at all times — they come from flyers and merchants and can change without notice. Every week, we work to give you a fair and reliable picture so you can follow your products, spot real discounts and buy at the right time, at the best price. At aubaine.ca, every dollar saved matters: our mission is to hunt down the best deals for you. Always confirm the final price in store or with the merchant.
Thank you — got it!
Every comment gets read. That is how aubaine.ca improves.
Grow with us and earn deals
Subscribe and get the weekly flyers, coupons and best deals. Members earn Aubaine Points with every action — reviews, feedback, purchases — and climb through the tiers.
Double opt-in by email · one-click unsubscribe.
English
Leave a Review